18 Dinakaran supporter MLAs disqualified; Palaniswami govt ‘safe’

The Tamil Nadu assembly speaker on Monday disqualified 18 MLAs supporting sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran, just two days before a high court deadline for a floor test by chief minister Edapaddi Palaniswami. The MLAs were disqualified under Schedule 10 of the Indian Constitution which speaks about the anti-defection law.The Palaniswami government claims support of 114 MLAs, who had attended a general council meeting that ousted jailed leader Sasikala and Dinakaran from party posts. Meanwhile, TTV supporters said they would go to court against the speaker’s decision.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button