NationalOther StatePoliticsStateState Politics

Karnataka: CM Who Will Finish Full 5Years after a Long Gap of 40 Years

After 40 Years, a CM to Serve a Full 5-Year Term in Karnataka

Siddaramaiah has already entered the history books. Siddaramaiah will finish a full 5-year term before the elections are conducted, making him the second Chief Minister of the state to achieve this landmark. And this is happening after a long gap of 40 years.

Siddaramaiah was sworn in as chief minister on 13 May 2013 and will continue to hold the post until the elections. In the history of Karnataka, except for Siddaramaiah and Devaraj Urs, no other Karnataka CM has served a full term. In case of other governments, they were either dissolved earlier or had multiple chief ministers.

After the announcement of the election dates, some pointed out that Siddaramaiah will miss out the landmark by one day, as he was sworn in as the CM on 13 May 2013 and the elections, this year, will be conducted on 12 May. However, political experts pointed out that the government’s tenure is counted from election to election.

Although S Nijalingappa, who was the first and fourth Chief Minister of state of Mysore, after reorganisation of the states, had served five years (1962-1968) as chief minister, he did so as part of two different governments. However, Devaraj Urs and Siddaramaiah finished their term of five years in the same government.

The First Chief minister Who served for Full 5 years in Karnataka History:

The next CM to do so was Devaraj Urs, who came to power in 1972 and served for 5 years and 286 days before fighting the next election in 1978.

CM karnataka

He served two terms as the eight CM of Karnataka (1972–77 and 1978–80). He is credited with bringing land reforms to the state and helping Indira Gandhi get re-elected from Chikkamangaluru, after her political eclipse.

If He Wins, Siddaramaiah Will Rank After Urs in Yet Another Record
While Siddaramaiah has entered one record book, another awaits him if he gets re-elected. In the history of the state, only one chief minister has been re-elected to power after serving a full 5-year-term. Urs was the only CM in the history of the state to have been re-elected in 1978, after serving the full five-year term.

Siddaramaiah and Urs have few other factors in common as well. Both used the AHINDA vote bank (Kannada acronym for minorities, backward classes and Dalits) as part of their poll strategy.

Urs joined the Indira faction of the Congress, following the party’s split in 1969. He won the 1972 election due to Indira Gandhi’s popularity, but as the Lingayat and Vokkaliga leaders had gone with the other faction, he created the AHINDA vote bank to counter them.

He was the first CM to win the election because of the AHINDA vote bank, in 1978. Forty years later, even Siddaramaiah is heavily depending on the AHINDA vote bank, to return to power.

Opinion Poll
With assembly election ahead With assembly election ahead, well known Digital Media platform has decided to gauge the mood of Chhattisgarh through its own opinion poll. As an aware voter and stakeholder of the democratic process, kindly do answer the following questions so that prevailing mood of state can be ascertained.
Assembly Segment
Phone Number
Which party will emerge as the single largest party?
Which party will win how many seats?
Whom would you like to see as next Chhattisgarh Chief Minister?
Have you witnessed development work in your area?
Do you think that farmers of Chhattisgarh are satisfied with BJP government?
Do you think youngsters are happy with employment scenario created by Chhattisgarh/state government?
Do you think state government has done enough on issue of women empowerment?
Are you satisfied with work done by your legislator? Have electoral promises been fulfilled or not?
Are you satisfied with the amenities provided by the government in your area?
Do you think the state government has successfully tackled naxal menace?
Are you satisfied with work done by different state Ministers?

Please do vote...

ओपिनियन पोल
छत्तीसगढ़ की आगामी विधानसभा चुनाव के लिए डिजिटल मीडिया ‘’ नेसटीक ओपिनियन पोल करनेका निश्चय किया है. अतः आप नीचे दिए सवालों के निष्पक्ष जवाब देंताकि राज्य की आने वाले दिनों की सही सियासी तस्वीर सामनेआ सके. कृपया अपना मत जरूर दें- With assembly election ahead
विधानसभा क्षेत्र
फ़ोन नं
विधानसभा चुनाव में सबसे बड़ी पार्टी कौन सी होगी ?
किस पार्टी को कितनी सीटें मिलेगी?
अगले मुख्यमंत्री के रूप में किसे देखना चाहेंगे?
क्या आपके क्षेत्र में विकास दिखाई पड़ रहा है?
क्या छत्तीसगढ़ का किसान भाजपा शासन से संतुष्ट है?
जो रोजगार छत्तीसगढ़ सरकार ने दिया, क्या उससे युवा वर्ग संतुष्ट है?
राज्य सरकार ने महिलाओं के सशक्तिकरण के लिए जो किया, उससे महिलाएं संतुष्ट हैं?
क्या आप अपने विधायक से संतुष्ट हैं? उन्होंने अपने वादे पूरे किए या अधूरे हैं उनके काम?
क्या आप अपने क्षेत्र की सरकारी सुविधाओं सेसंतुष्ट हैं?
क्या नक्सली समस्या पर नियंत्रण हुआ है?
क्या प्रदेश के मंत्रियों के कामकाज से संतुष्ट हैं?
-देश हित के लिए मतदान अवश्य करें-

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.