1st phase of Jharkhand polls today for 13 seats

Thirteen constituencies in six districts of Jharkhand on Saturday will go to Assembly polls in the first of five phases, in which a state minister, eight sitting legislators and state PCC president are key contestants.

A 3.7 million-strong electorate, including 1.8 million women and five transgender voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise and will decide the fate of 189 candidates, including 15 women, in the first phase. Of the total candidates, 44 are facing criminal charges according to their affidavits; 59 are crorepatis.

Seats for which polling will take place are Chatra, Gumla, Bishunpur, Lohardaga, Manika, Latehar, Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur, Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur.

Back to top button