Agricultural activities picks up in Chhattisgarh amid avg rainfall of 547.6mm

In some regions, sapling plantation is also being done enthusiastically.

In this ongoing monsoon, average rainfall of 547.6mm recorded in all 27 districts of Chhattisgarh between June 1 and June 30.

This is 27.8mm more than the normal rainfall recorded in this duration during rainy season.

With good rainfall in many districts of the state, agricultural activities are going on at an accelerated pace.

In some regions, sapling plantation is also being done enthusiastically.

Officials of Directorate of Agriculture informed today that in the current kharif season, farmers of the state have been provided seven lakh 53 thousand 289 quintals of certified seeds of paddy, corn, lentils, soyabean and other crops.

Four lakh 87 thousand 960 quintals of certified seeds out of these have been provided to primary agriculture credit cooperatives societies for various crops.

In the same sequence, five lakh 19 thousand 569 metric tons of fertilizers has been distributed to farmers of cooperatives and private sector across the state. This includes distribution of four lakh 20 thousand 774 metric tons of fertilizers to cooperative societies.

Officials informed that this year monsoon showers began from June 10. Rill date, normal rainfall of 81% to 119% has been recorded in 18 out of 27 districts, which includes Jashpur, Koriya, Balodabazar, Mahasamund, Dhamtari, Bilaspur, Raigarh, Janjgir-Champa, Korba, Durg, Kabeerdham, Rajnandgaon, Balod, Bemetara, Bastar, Kondagaon, Narayanpur and Dantewada.

Besides, in six districts namely Sarguja, Surajpur, Balrampur, Mungeli, Sukma, and Bijapur, rainfall of 12% more than normal has been recorded.

In past nearly two months (till July 30), average rainfall recorded in various districts is as follows- Sarguja 576.6mm, Surajpur 572.3mm, Balrampur 739.2mm, Jashpur 588.7mm, Koriya (Baikunthpur) district 426.1mm, Raipur district 379.4mm, Baloda Bazar 513.8mm, Gariaband 412.4mm, Mahasamund district 460mm, Dhamtari 467.9mm, Mungeli 529.9mm, Raigarh 487mm, Janjgir-Champa 464.1mm, Korba 530.1mm, Durg 437.2mm, Kabeerdham 390.6mm, Rajnandgaon 470.3mm, Balod 466.5mm, Bemetara 510.7, Bastar (Jagdalpur) 534.6, Kondagaon 498mm, Narayanpur 654.3mm, Dantewada 618.3mm, Sukma 1076.8mm, Bijapur 997.5mm.

Back to top button