Ajit Pawar, other MLAs take oath at Maharashtra Special Assembly Session

Maharashtra Special Assembly Session begins

A special session of the Maharashtra Assembly began at 8:00 am on Wednesday, where 288 newly-elected MLAs took oath. The Maharashtra Special Assembly Session was convened by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari on Tuesday, where floor test will be conducted after pro-tem speaker administers the oath to the 288 newly-elected members. The oath was administered by newly-appointed pro-tem speaker Kalidas Kolambkar at the session.

Kolambkar was appointed by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari on Tuesday evening on directions of the Supreme Court which ordered a floor test on Wednesday.


“Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari has called a special session of the legislative assembly on Wednesday. The session would begin at 8 am for the oath-taking ceremony of the 288 members. Following the oath, the pro-tem speaker will call for a floor test,” the official said.

The newly-elected members couldn’t take an oath even one month after the results of the assembly polls were announced, due to political ups and downs in the state.

The state remained under President’s Rule for a period of 13 days between November 12 and November 23 in the wake of no political party able to form a government and the Assembly in suspended animation.

Back to top button