All arrangements put in place for tomorrow’s assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Assam and West Bengal

The third phase of polling in Assam and West Bengal will be held tomorrow. Bypolls to Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha seat in Tamil Nadu and Malappuram Parliamentary constituency in Kerala will also be conducted simultaneously.

All arrangements have been put in place for assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry and third phase of polling in Assam and West Bengal. While single-phase polling will be held in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry tomorrow, Assam is witnessing three-phase voting, and that of West Bengal eight phases.

The third phase of polling in Assam and West Bengal will be held tomorrow. Bypolls to Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha seat in Tamil Nadu and Malappuram Parliamentary constituency in Kerala will also be conducted simultaneously.

In West Bengal, campaigning for the later phases is gaining momentum particularly in the constituencies to be going for polls in the fourth phase. AIR correspondent reports that ruling Trinamool Congress is trying to utilize the stardom of renowned actress, MP Jaya Bachchan along with party Supremo Mamata Banerjee as they are projecting the leading ladies as Bengal’s daughters while campaigning for the fourth phase.

Ms Banerjee is holding four rallies, three in Hooghly and the other one in South 24 parganas while Jaya Bachchan, the MP of Samajwadi Party will do a road show in support of TMC candidate, sitting Minister Arup Biswas in Tollygunge seat this afternoon.

BJP is also taking up the challenge as the party president Jagat Prakash Nadda is doing a road show in the same constituency, in favour of party candidate, union minister and singer Babul Supriyo, who is contesting from Tollygunge seat. Sanjukta Morcha leaders are also campaigning in favour of their candidate actor Debdoot Ghosh in the constituency.

Senior CPIM leaders like Manik Sarkar, Biman Basu and Suryakanta Mishra are campaigning in Alipurduar, Coochbehar and Darjeeling today. The constituencies of the districts are going to polls in the fourth and Fifth phases.

Polling will be held tomorrow in 31 assembly constituencies in the third phase of state elections. Sixteen assembly constituencies of South 24 Paragana districts, 08 of Hooghly and 07 assembly segments of Howrah will go to polls in this phase.

Elaborate arrangements are in place for conduction of free, fair and peaceful polling. Besides state police personnel over 600 companies of Central Armed Paramilitary Forces (CAPF) have been deployed spread over 10,871 polling stations.

High-security arrangements have been made in all assembly segments. Security personnel conducted flag march in areas where sensitive booths are located to instil the confidence of voters of weaker sections.

To keep tabs on the whole polling process live webcasting will be done from polling stations. Vigil will be kept through drones in sensitive areas.

Electoral fortunes of three state ministers and two cine stars will be sealed in EVMs on Tuesday. Giyasuddin Mollah, Dr Nirmal Manjhi and Asima Patra are three ministers of Mamata Banerjee government who are in the fray in this phase.

Besides this film star, BJP candidate Tanushree Chakroborty is challenging four times MLA senior TMC leader Kalipada Mondol from Shyampur assembly seat. Another cine star of Tollywood Papia Dey Adhikari is trying her luck on BJP ticket from Uluberia Dakshin seat.

Former Rajya Sabha member Swapan Dasgupta is a BJP candidate from the assembly segment of temple town Tarakeswar.TMC candidate and speaker of West Bengal assembly Biman Banerjee is contesting from Baruipur assembly seat of South 24 Pargana district.

In Tamilnadu, the 16th Assembly election will be held in a single phase in all the 234 constituencies tomorrow. Along with the Assembly election, bye-election for the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat will also be held. The seat fell vacant after the death of Vasanthakumar last year.

A total of six crore 62 lakh sixty-nine thousand 955 voters will exercise their franchise in the elections. Notification for the polls were issued on 12th March. Nineteenth March was the last day for filing of nominations. Nominations were scrutinised on the 20th and 22nd was the last date for withdrawal of nominations. The counting of votes will be on 2nd May. AIR correspondent reports that

With less than a month for campaigning, leaders from all over the Country crisscrossed the State to garner votes for their parties and alliances. According to Chief electoral officer Satya brata Sahoo told that 88 thousand 937 poll booths would be set up for the election.

Three hundred poll booths were identified to be critical and more than ten thousand booths were vulnerable. One lakh 58 thousand security personnel will be deployed for polling duty. More than four lakh government employees will be on poll duty.

A total of 118 observors are monitoring the violation of the model code of conduct activities in the State. More than one lakh 58 thousand electronic voting machines will be used for this election. Due to Covid reasons, one poll booth will be set up for every thousand voter.

Voters will be given a face mask if they are not found to be wearing one and every voter will be given a glove to exercise their franchise. Every booth will also have at least 12 PPE kits to enable covid positive persons to vote during the last hour tomorrow. Polling begins at seven in the morning and extends upto seven pm. Voters can also file their Complaints on violation of the code of conduct, money and cash distribution through C Vigil App.

cg dpr advertisement cg dpr advertisement cg dpr advertisement
cg dpr advertisement cg dpr advertisement cg dpr advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button