Amit Shah, Smriti Irani files nomination papers for Rajya Sabha from Gujarat

BJP National President Amit Shah and Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Mrs. Smriti Irani have filed their nomination papers for Rajyasabha from Gujarat. However, BJP has also fielded Mr. Balwantsinh Rajput – as its third candidate for Rajysabha from Gujarat. Balwantsinh Rajput, the former chief whip of Congress legislative party joined BJP last evening along with two other Congress MLAs.

Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, State BJP President Jitibhai Vaghani, former Chief Minister Anandiben Patel and other party leaders remained present during the filing of nomination papers. Earlier, Congress candidate Shri Ahmed Patel had filed his nomination papers for Rajyasabha seat from Gujarat last Wednesday. Today is the last day of filing of nomination papers for 3 seats of Rajyasabha.

AIR correspondent reports that following the filing of third candidate by BJP, the polling for three seats of Rajyasabha is now imminent. Polling for the three vacant seats of Rajyasabha is scheduled on 8th August.

BJP’s third candidate for Rajyasabha Mr. Balwant Sinh Rajput switched to BJP last evening in the presence of BJP national president Amit Shah. Other two MLAs, who joined BJP are MLA from Viramgar Dr. Tejshree Patel and MLA from Vijapur Mr. Prahalad Patel.

Back to top button