Another IED blast by Naxals near Bastar Lok Sabha constituency’s where voting is underway

Raipur: No casualty was reported in the incident, informed local police. Narayanpur falls under Bastar Lok Sabha seat.

“The explosion took place at around 4.15 am in Farasgaon area on Narayanpur-Dandwan Road when a team of security personnel was escorting polling personnel to their booth,” the official said.

The explosives were planted underground as they waited for the security forces to arrive. “No harm was caused to the security forces and polling personnel in the explosion,” he added.

A thick security blanket comprising around 80,000 state and paramilitary personnel fanned out across Bastar Lok Sabha constituency where polling is being held in four Assembly segments – Dantewada, Konta, Bijapur and Narayanpur – from 7 am to 3 pm, he said.

Total seven candidates are in the fray in the Bastar Lok Sabha constituency

Back to top button