BlogOther StateState

Tradition of Bihu Festival

Bohag Bihu, also known as Rongali Bihu,Facts About Bihu Festival Of Assam

1. Bohag Bihu, also known as Rongali Bihu, is the Assamese New Year and is observed for three days as per the traditional Assamese Calendar. The New Year is observed on the first day of Bohag month.

2. The Hindu New Year celebrations in Assam begins on the last day of the Assamese month ‘Chait.’ In 2014, the date of Bohag Bihu is April 15. The first day of celebration is dedicated to cattle and is April 14, 2014.

3. The first day of the Rongali Bihu New Year celebrations which falls on the last day of Assamese month ‘Chait’ is known as ‘Goru Bihu’ (the festival of cow). In 2014, the date of Goru Bihu is April 14.

4. The second day of Bohag Bihu celebrations is known as ‘Manuh bihu’ (the festival for the people). It is popularly known as the traditional Assamese New Year – Rongali Bihu or Bohag Bihu. It is observed on the first of Bohag month. In 2014, the date of Bohag Bihu is April 15.

5.The third day of Assamese New Year Bihu celeberations is known as ‘Gosain bihu (God’s bihu). In 2014, the date of Gosain Bihu is April 16.

Facts About Bihu Festival Of Assam

1. Bihu is a set of three different festivals: Rangali or Bohag Bihu which is observed in April, Kangali or Kati Bihu which is observed in October, and Bhogali or Magh Bihu which is observed in January.

2.The Rangali Bihu is the most important of the three and celebrates the Assamese new year and the spring festival.

3.The Bhogali Bihu or the Magh Bihu is the one which is all about food.

4.The Kongali Bihu or the Kati Bihu is the somber and thrifty one reflecting a season of short supplies. Bodos of Assam light lamps for rice crop and offer prayer to the God of Fire for a successful harvesting season.

5.Rangali Bihu coincides with Baisakhi. While the other two Bihu are unique to Assamese culture.

6.Bihu is associated with agriculture, much like many other festivals in the state. It symbolizes a successful harvest of paddy crop.

7.The three Bihu festivals are Hindu festivals for honoring Lord Krishna, cattle, elders, fertility and Goddess Durga. However, the celebrations and traditions have aboriginal, south east Asian and Tibetan influences.

8.The Bihu festival is celebrated for seven days and those seven days are called Xaat Bihu.

9.Bihu is celebrated by dancing, folk songs, beating drums and by indulging in sumptuous meals.

10.During Bhogali Bihu, various types of sports like buffalo fighting, cock fighting, egg fighting and nightingale fighting are organized.

11.Apart from being celebrated in Assam, the three Bihu are celebrated by the Assamese diaspora around the world.

12.The day before Bihu is called Uruka. On this day, people build temporary huts with hay and bamboo called belaghar. The belaghars are used for communal meals and get together.

Review Date
Reviewed Item
Tradition of Bihu Festival
Author Rating
congress cg advertisement congress cg advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button