Other StatePoliticsState

Counting of votes begins in Tamil Nadu

The counting of votes in the late chief minister J Jayalalithaa’s constituency began at 8 am

The counting of votes in the late chief minister J Jayalalithaa’s constituency began at 8 am in Tamil Nadu.The counting began by 8 am at Queen Mary’s College and the process is expected to be completed in 19 rounds.

As many as 200 officials drawn from both Central and State government services have been deputed for the exercise.

Tight security is in place with state and Central Armed Police Forces personnel providing multi-layered security.

The outcome of the result is crucial for all key contenders – the ruling AIADMK, rival leader TTV Dinakaran, and the main opposition DMK.

Unfazed by some exit polls indicating an edge for rival AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran, both the ruling AIADMK and main opposition DMK have expressed confidence in winning the seat.

For the ruling regime helmed by chief minister K Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam, it will be seen as an acid test of whether voters prefer them after the demise of their formidable leader late chief minister J Jayalalithaa.

For Dinakaran, who claims to represent the welfare legacy of Jayalalithaa, the bypoll success is a veritable springboard for his future political aspirations.

The DMK has been bolstered with the support of some more parties, including the Left, MDMK and VCK.

A win in this bypoll could help it project itself as a much more redoubtable key opposition party.

While there are 18 micro observers drawn from Central government services, each of the 14 counting tables will be monitored by one of them, according to election authorities.

The entire counting process is being videographed and arrangements have been made to announce the results after conclusion of counting of each round.

The bypoll held on December 21 had seen a record 77.68 per cent voter turnout.

There are 59 candidates in the fray, but the fight is essentially a triangular one, with key contenders being ruling AIADMK’s E Madhusudhanan, main opposition DMK candidate N Maruthu Ganesh and Dinakaran contesting as an independent.

The ruling AIADMK got back its Two Leaves election symbol back following merger of factions led by Palaniswami and former rebel O Panneerselvam.

The 2015 RK Nagar bypoll, in which Jayalalithaa was elected by a huge margin of 1.5 lakh votes for the first time in this segment, had witnessed a record 75 per cent turnout.

RK Nagar, represented twice by Jayalalithaa, has an electorate of 2,28,234, comprising 1,10,903 men, 1,17,232 women and 99 transgenders.

31 May 2020, 4:10 AM (GMT)

India Covid19 Cases Update

189,717 Total
5,390 Deaths
91,016 Recovered

Back to top button