NationalPoliticsTop Headlines

Counting of votes underway for Assembly Elections in Bihar; Trends show NDA crossing majority figure ahead of Grand Alliance

Counting of votes is underway for Assembly Elections in Bihar and bypolls to 58 assembly seats in 11 States.

Counting of votes is underway for Assembly Elections in Bihar and bypolls to 58 assembly seats in 11 States. Counting for Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat in Bihar is also taking place.

As per the trends available, NDA is leading in 127 assembly seats, while the Grand Alliance is ahead in 106 seats, while others are leading in 10 constituencies.

It began at 8 this morning with postal ballots being counted first. The EVMs were opened after half-an-hour.

Bihar Minister and BJP leader Vinod Narayan Jha is leading over Congress rival Bhawana Jha by 6,000 votes in Benipatti.

Bihar Assembly Speaker and JD( U) candidate Vijay Kumar Choudhary is leading from Sarairanjan seat.
Congress candidate Subhashini is trailing in Bihariganj seats by 1,271 votes. JD(U) leader Niranjan Kumar Mehta is leading.

Pappu Yadav and President of Jan Adhikar Party(JAP) is trailing from Madhepura seat.

Bihar Chief Electoral officer HR Srinivasa said the results will take a little more time because more EVMs have been used this time.

Fifty five counting centres have been set up in 38 districts of Bihar. In all, 414 counting halls have been prepared. Not more than seven counting tables are allowed in one counting hall to maintain social distancing.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful counting across the state. Three-tier security system has been created in and around the counting centres. Jawans of Central Para-Military Forces have been deployed at each centre to ensure trouble-free counting. Additional security forces have been deployed in sensitive areas. Victory procession has been banned.

A prohibitory order has been issued in and around counting centres.

Election Commission has instructed to follow COVID protocol during the counting. Every counting personnel has to wear a face mask. All counting centres have been sanitized. Social distancing will be maintained during counting of votes.

Voting for the 243-member Bihar Assembly was held in three phases on October 28 and November 3 and 7.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button