‘Delete for Everyone’ button is finally here in Whatsapp; heres how it works
With over a billion users of social media platform, Whatsapp needs to and does innovate pretty often. So far as year 2017 is here, one feature has been one of the highly awaited feature of this social media platform. The feature is known as the Delete for Everyone aka Recall button aka Revoke button.
Reportedly, the feature until today was available only for Windows phone beta users but it has now moved out of the beta phase and is available for all. The Delete for Everyone feature as the name explains is a feature that will enable the WhatsApp users to delete or recall or the sent messages.
Please note that this is a time-sensitive feature. This means messages sent within 7 minutes can only be revoked or deleted. The feature won’t work if you are trying to delete a messages older than 7 minutes. Also recipient may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful. The Android users will see a message reading this message was deleted for everyone” after the message is recalled. Also, user can recall multiple message at once.
So here is how it works
WhatsApp has over one billion users so it is not possible to roll out a feature at once for all. This is a slow roll out. This is the reason why some of your friends may have received it while some may have not.
If your phone is compatible for the feature then you will soon receive the update notification. You can also go to your WhatsApp Settings > Chats > Backup and perform it or try reinstalling the chat app. The feature will be available for both desktop and mobile platform.
The recall or delete for everyone feature is similar to the Gmail’s undo feature. WaBetaInfo, the fan site for WhatsApp explains the working- ” When you delete a message for everyone, your WhatsApp sends a fake copy of the message to the recipient. When the recipient will receive your copy, his device won’t show you the notification and it won’t save it in his chat history, but it will check if there is the ID of the message in the database: if it will find the message, the message will be correctly revoked (if the recipients are using the latest version of WhatsApp).” This is the back-end process.
On the front-end , the process is simple. Simply tap and long press the message you want to delete. Tap on the delete icon in the top of the screen. You will see have 3 options now- Delete for Everyone, Delete for Me and Cancel. The Delete for Everyone will delete the message for you and your receiver, the Delete for Me will delete the message only for you and Cancel will simply close the Delete window.>