Diwali bonanza for Karnataka ruling coalition of Cong-JDS

coalition also managed to win both the Assembly constituencies (Jamkhandi and Ramanagara)

The Diwali is going to be look ahead for the Congress party as the Karnataka’s ruling coalition Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and Congress managed to put up an impressive show by winning two of the three Lok Sabha seats (Bellary and Mandya).

The coalition also managed to win both the Assembly constituencies (Jamkhandi and Ramanagara).

The BJP, which has the single majority in local assembly, managed just with Shimoga Lok Sabha seat.
Around 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls for five constituencies.

In total, 31 candidates were in the fray, including five from the Bharatiya Janata Party, three from Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and two from Congress. The rest were Independents.

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Tuesday said that the results of the Karnataka by polls showed that the people of the state were “satisfied” under the Congress- JD(S) alliance government.

“People have rejected the BJP. It is also a rejection of the Modi government. Bypoll results will send a message to the entire country that the time for change has come,” says Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president Dinesh Gundu Rao.

Former finance minister P Chidambaram says the lesson of the 4-1 victory in bypolls in Karnataka is that the alliance has turned out beneficial.

Back to top button