DMK, allies announce candidates for parliamentary election

With election dates announced, the Tamil Nadu opposition DMK announced the names of the constituencies the party as well as its allies.

The parties will contest from in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry in the April 18 Lok Sabha elections.

DMK president MK Stalin released the list of constituencies allotted to the allies in the presence of coalition leaders, including TNCC chief KS Alagiri and MDMK’s Vaiko, at the party headquarters.

Stalin also described his party-led coalition as the “Secular Progressive Alliance.”

There are 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu and one in neighbouring Puducherry.

Addressing a press conference, Stalin said the DMK’s 20 seats will include Chennai (North), Chennai (South), Chennai (Central), Tuticorin and Pollachi among others.

The Congress, which has been allotted the lion’s share of seats among the allies, will contest from nine seats in the state, including Sivaganga, Tiruchirappally and Arani.

Back to top button