Election Commission announces Ranikhor by poll, know more

While the date of Issue of Gazette Notification is July 30, the last date for nominations is August 6

The Election Commission of India has announced the schedule of bye-election for the Ranikor (ST) Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya, to fill up a clear vacancy.

The polling in the Constituency is scheduled to be held on the 23rd August, 2018 and counting on 27thAugust, 2018.

The Commission, after taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls and weather conditions, have announced the bye-election schedule as follows:

While the date of Issue of Gazette Notification is July 30, the last date for nominations is August 6.

The date of scrutiny of nominations is August 7 and the last date for Withdrawal of candidatures is August 9.

The polling date is August 23 with the counting date is August 27.

The Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations.
Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available for the constituency and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly using the machines.

The Commission has decided, as in the past, that a valid document to prove the voter’s identification shall be mandatory to vote.

Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) shall be the main document for identification.

However, if the voter’s name figures in the Electoral Rolls but unable to produce the EPIC, a set of additional documents for identification will be announced separately in due course so that no voter is deprived of her or his franchise.

The Model Code of Conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Assembly Constituency going for bye-election is included, subject to the partial modification as issued vide Commission’s instruction No. 437/6/INST2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017 (available on the Commission’s website).

The Model Code of Conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Government concerned. It shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the district of the State concerned.

Back to top button