Gujarat: BJP sweeps all 6 Municipal Corporation elections

Gujarat Chief minister Vijay Rupani thanked voters for their trust in BJP after the party's victory in civic polls.

In Gujarat, Bharatiya Janata Party has retained power in all the six municipal corporations namely Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar. Counting of votes for the six municipal corporations conducted peacefully in the state yesterday.

Out of the total 575 seats of the six municipal corporations, BJP emerged victorious in 482 seats while Congress got 55 seats. Aam Aadmi Party which contested Civic polls for the first time in the state got a massive victory in Surat. The party won 27 seats, all in Surat.

Bahujan Samaj Party got 3 seats while 1 seat was won by an independent candidate. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, which also contested local body polls in the state for the first time, won seven seats in Ahmedabad.

Gujarat Chief minister Vijay Rupani thanked voters for their trust in BJP after the party’s victory in civic polls.

In the by polls for two seats of Junagadh municipal corporation, both Congress and BJP won one seat each. Rallies were organised by BJP workers across all major cities yesterday.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar has congratulated BJP, Gujarat team on its victory in the Gujarat Municipal Corporation elections.

Mr. Javadekar attributed the victory to the charisma of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and senior party leaders including Amit Shah, J. P. Nadda, State Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and Gujarat State Party President C. R. Patil. He said that the BJP continues to be the choice of the people.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button