JNUSU poll results, left unity bags four key posts

comes as counting of votes resumed Saturday evening

The much awaited result of the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union (JNUSU) polls is out and the Left unity has won all four key posts.

This comes as counting of votes resumed Saturday evening after it was suspended for nearly 14 hours.

The Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) members went on to claim that the counting had started without informing them.

As per the results, N Sai Balaji has been elected as the president with Sarika Chaudhary as the vice president.

Aijaz Ahmed Rather has been elected as the general secretary while Amutha Jayadeep is now the joint secretary.

It is alleged that ABVP supporters ransacked the School of International Studies building as the ballot boxes had been stored there.

The voter turnout in the keenly contested JNUSU election on Friday was 67.8 per cent.

The Left-backed All India Students’ Association (AISA), Students’ Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students’ Federation (DSF) and All India Students’ Federation (AISF) have come together to form the United-Left alliance.

The RSS-backed ABVP won the three top posts – president, vice president and joint secretary – in the Delhi University Students’ Union election.

Back to top button