Minister Maneka Sanjay Gandhi to confer National Awards to Anganwadi Workers under ICDS Scheme

Union Minister for Women & Child Development, Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi, in the presence of Minister of State for MWCD, Dr. Virendra Kumar will confer National Awards to 97 Anganwadi Workers(AWWs) for Exceptional Achievements for the year 2017-18, on the 07th of January 2018, in New Delhi.

Government of India formulated a scheme for awarding Anganwadi Workers (AWWs) at the National and State Levels in the year 2000-2001. The award is given to motivate the AWWs and recognise their exemplary service in the field of child development and related areas under the ICDS Scheme. The awards are given annually.

From this year, the cash prize of National Level has been increased from Rs. 25,000 to Rs. 50,000.

As per guidelines, National Level awards to AWWs are given to the awardees nominated by States/UTs out of the State/UT Level awardees. The number of nominations of AWWs at National Level depends on the size of the State/UT and operational ICDS Projects. The number of awards has also been doubled.

The nominations received from the States/UTs are screened and recommended by a Screening Committee headed by Secretary, MWCD. The selection of awardees is made by the Selection Committee headed by Hon’ble Minister for Women & Child Development.

The Award at the National Level comprises of a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 and a citation. State Level award comprises of a cash prize of Rs. 10,000
and a citation.

Back to top button