Nagaland Governor appoints T.R. Zeliang as new CM

Nagaland Governor today appointed new TR Zeliang as new chief minister of the state. Raj Bhavan sources said Zeliang will be sworn in as Chief Minister at 3 pm today.

Governor PB Acharya has asked Zeliang to prove his majority on the floor of the House on or before on Saturday, the July 22nd.

Zeliang staked claim to form government in Nagaland with a majority support of 47 members of the Legislative Assembly.

Earlier this morning, Chief Minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu and his MLAs did not turn up to face a floor test at a special session of the state assembly follow which the House was adjourned sine die.

As per information received, Zeliang was forced out of office in February following large scale protests over holding of urban local bodies election with 33 per cent reservation for women. With this, the Naga Peoples’ Front led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland Government in the State will have the fourth Chief Minister within its five years term of ruling the State.

It may be mentioned that the incumbent Chief Minister Shurhozelie who is facing a rebellion from his party MLAs did not turn up to face a floor test today. The Governor had earlier asked the Speaker to summon an emergent special session of the state assembly today for the chief minister to seek the confidence vote.

Back to top button