New maps with union territories of J&K, Ladakh releases

The maps were prepared by the Survey General of India.

The Union home ministry released the maps of the newly formed Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh,The maps were prepared by the Survey General of India.

Parliament removed Jammu and Kashmir of its special status in August by scrapping Article 370 of the Constitution, and decided to bifurcate the state into the UTs that came into existence on October 31.


Importantly,areas in Pakistan-occupied Muzaffarabad, Mirpur and Kashmirlike were included in the map of the UT of Jammu and Kashmir. Gilgit Wazrat, Gilgit,and Chillas were depicted in the map of the UT of Ladakh. In addition,the Ladakh UT includes Leh and Kargil districts.

The earlier state of Jammu and Kashmir comprising 14 districts is reorganized into 28 districts. The new districts are , Bandipur, Ganderbal,Kupwara,Srinagar, Shopian,Budgam,Ramban, Pulwama,Kulgam,Kishtivar,Rajouri,Doda,Samba and Kargil. Out of these, Kargil district was carved out from the area of Leh and Ladakh district.

Back to top button