Om Prakash Rawat: To take over as new chief election commissioner

Mr Om Prakash Rawat, will take over as Chief Election Commissioner today. He will succeed Mr AK Joti, who retired yesterday. Mr Rawat’s tenure will end in December this year.

He was appointed Election Commissioner in August 2015. Born on December 2, 1953, Mr Rawat is a former Madhya Pradesh cadre IAS officer.

Sunil Arora is the other Election Commissioner in the three-member poll body.

Former finance secretary Ashok Lavasa was appointed Election Commissioner on Sunday. His appointment will come into effect from the day he assumes office.

Back to top button