Rajya Sabha will be crossing one more milestone as 250th session begins

The Rajya Sabha will be crossing one more milestone when the MPs assemble for the Winter Session of Parliament – it will be the Upper House’s 250th session that comes 67 years after its first sitting on May 13, 1952.

To commemorate the occasion, it will have a special discussion on the first day itself on the ‘Role of Rajya Sabha in Indian Polity and Need for Reforms’. During the debate, the Opposition is expected to target the Narendra Modi government for what they perceive as undermining of the House where it is in a minority by bringing certain bills as money bills whose fate does not depend on its decision.

In its long and uninterrupted innings, the Upper House has passed 3,924 Bills, threw some into dustbin that included three Constitution Amendment Bills, expelled three MPs and saw the lone impeachment proceedings in India’s Parliamentary history.

It has many unique moments in its history, which has seen 2,282 MPs over these years, including 208 women and one of its current MPs Mahendra Prasad (BJP) holding on to the post for seven terms, the highest for any. If one takes the number of years, former MP Najma Heptullah, who is presently Manipur Governor, tops the list with 36 years in Rajya Sabha.

Back to top button