Remembering 40 CRPF personnel martyred in Pulwama terror attack

New Delhi: India went in a state of deep shock in February last year when 40 CRPF personnel were killed in a brutal terrorist attack in Jammu and Kashmir’s Pulwama district.

On February 14, 2019, 40 CRPF personnel lost their lives after a Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM) terrorist rammed an explosive-laden car with their convoy passing through Jammu-Srinagar national highway in Pulwama district.

The tragic incident sent a shock wave across the country and drew widespread outrage with many condemning the cowardly act.

Several prominent leaders across the world including Prime Minister Narendra Modi had deplored the dastardly attack, saying the sacrifices of brave security personnel will not go in vain.

Days after the Pulwama attack, India carried out an air strike in Pakistan’s Balakot targetting JeM’s training camp. The government that a very large number of JeM terrorists, trainers, senior commanders and groups of jihadis who were being trained for fidayeen action were eliminated in the operation.

Here is the full list of the martyred CRPF jawans:

Head Constable Naseer Ahmad (Jammu and Kashmir)

Constable Sukhjinder Singh (Punjab)

Head Constable Jaimal Singh (Punjab)

Constable Rohitash Lamba (Rajasthan)

Constable Tilak Raj (Himachal Pradesh)

Head Constable Vijay Soreng (Jharkhand)

Constable Vasantha Kumar VV (Kerala)

Constable Subramaniam G (Tamil Nadu)

Constable Manoja Kumar Behera (Odisha)

Constable GD Guru H (Karnataka)

Head Constable Narayan Lal Gurjar (Rajasthan)

Constable Mahesh Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Pradeep Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)

Head Constable Hemraj Meena (Rajasthan)

Head Constable PK Sahoo (Odisha)

Constable Ramesh Yadav (Uttar Pradesh)

Head Constable Sanjay Rajput (Maharashtra)

Constable Koushal Kumar Rawat (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Pradeep Singh (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Shyam Babu (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Ajit Kumar Azad (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Maninder Singh Attri (Punjab)

Head Constable Bablu Santra (West Bengal)

Constable Ashvni Kumar Kaochi (Madhya Pradesh)

Constable Rathod Nitin Shivaji (Maharashtra)

Constable Bhagirath Singh (Rajasthan)

Constable Virendra Singh (Uttarakhand)

Head Constable Awadhesh Kumar Yadav (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Ratan Kumar Thakur (Bihar)

Constable Pankaj Kumar Tripathi (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Jeet Ram (Rajasthan)

Constable Amit Kumar (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Vijay Kr. Mourya (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Kulwinder Singh (Punjab)

Head Constable Maneswar Bsumatari (Assam)

Assistant Sub Inspector Mohan Lal (Uttarakhand)

Head Constable Sanjay Kumar Sinha (Bihar)

Head Constable Ram Vakeel (Uttar Pradesh)

Constable Sudeep Biswas (West Bengal)

Constable Sivachandran (Tamil Nadu)

Earlier today, CRPF tweeted pictures of the martyrs and paid tribute to the jawans who sacrificed their lives for the nation.

“WE DID NOT FORGET, WE DID NOT FORGIVE: We salute our brothers who sacrificed their lives in the service of the nation in Pulwama. Indebted, we stand with the families of our valiant martyrs,” it tweeted along with their pictures.

Back to top button