SP-BSP confirm tie up for national poll, snub Congress as well

It is a snub to Congress and arch rivals Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav have yet again joined in forces to take on the BJP in national election of 2019.

Congress will not be a part of the alliance as the two leaders announced that there was no “real gain” from any tie-up with Rahul Gandhi’s party.

This is even when Congress is now having government in three major states of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.

It was decided by the two UP based parties that they will contest 38 seats each in Uttar Pradesh.

The state for now has 80 parliamentary constituencies and is key to power at the centre.

The alliance left two seats for Congress, namely Amethi (which is Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s constituency) and Sonia Gandhi’s seat Raebareli.

Back to top button