Thursday ushered in new CM for Karnataka; Yeddurapppa takes oath; has fortnight to prove majority

BJP currently has 105 MLAs has come to power in Karnataka.

With the passage of night on Wednesday, things became clearer for the nation and more specifically for the people of Karnataka.

This as the BJP finally got the invite of the Governor to form government and prove majority on the floor of the house within a fortnight.

BJP currently has 105 MLAs has come to power in Karnataka.

In the next 15 days BS Yeddyurappa, who has been sworn in as the Chief Minister, will have to prove his majority.

Meanwhile the invite to the Yeddyurappa had national level reactions, Congress President Rahul Gandhi took to Twitter to describe the event as mourning the “defeat of democracy”.

Rahul Gandhi tweeted this, The BJP’s irrational insistence that it will form a Govt. in Karnataka, even though it clearly doesn’t have the numbers, is to make a mockery of our Constitution.

This morning, while the BJP celebrates its hollow victory, India will mourn the defeat of democracy.

However, never at a loss of words, the BJP chief Amit Shah countered the allegation with his own tweet,
The ‘Murder of Democracy’ happens the minute a desperate Congress made an ‘opportunist’ offer to the JD(S), not for Karnataka’s welfare but for their petty political gains. Shameful!

It need be mentioned that the Congress party has accused the Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala of encouraging horse-trading, after he invited Mr Yeddyurappa to form the government even though he did not have the numbers.

As Mr Yeddyurapa flashed a victory sign after taking the oath of office, Congress and JD(S) lawmakers left the Eagleton Resorts, where they were putting up for the last 48 hours, to hold a protest outside the Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru.

Senior Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Ashok Gehlot, who have been camping in Bengaluru since the counting day, along with Siddaramaiah and other JD(U) leaders have gathered near the Mahatma Gandhi statue at the state secretariat to protest Mr Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Back to top button