TMC releases list of candidates for West Bengal, heres what stands out

Days after the poll schedule announcement, the West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee released a list of Trinamool Congress candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

The TMC chief has given 41 per cent of the tickets to women, including a number of Bengali celebrities like Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan.

Bengali actor Dipak Adhikari, or Dev as he is known, would seek re-election from Ghatal Constituency.

From Howrah, the Trinamool has re-nominated Arjuna awardee and former Indian football captain Prasun Banerjee.

Actress Satabdi Roy will fight to retain her seat Birbhum.

Former actress Moon Moon Sen, who pulled up an unexpected victory over CPI-M veteran Basudeb Acharya in Bankura in 2014, has been shifted to Asansol.

She is likely to take on BJP candidate and singer-turned-Union Minister Babul Supriyo.

What is especially crucial for the state of West Bengal is that it votes in all the seven phases in this year’s nation polls starting on April 11.

Back to top button