Travel ban on refugees, travelers from 6 countries come into effect

US President Donald Trump’s temporary travel ban on refugees and travelers from six mainly Muslim countries has come into effect, after the Supreme Court allowed it following a five month battle with rights groups.

The Trump administration said, yesterday that the travel ban is necessary to block terrorists from entering the country.

The 90-day ban on visitors from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen will allow exceptions for people with “close family relationships” in the United States, which the government has defined narrowly, excluding grandparents and
grandchildren, aunts and uncles and others.

Back to top button