Uddhav Thackeray to Be CM, MLAs to Take Oath

Maharashtra Live Update

Mumbai: The drama that began with Devendra Fadnavis being sworn in as the chief minister with Ajit Pawar as his deputy came to a close with their resignation on Tuesday. The Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena have formed an alliance called the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi and resolved that Uddhav Thackeray would be the chief minister for the next five years.

Fadnavis’s resignation came hours after the Supreme Court ordered him to prove his support on the floor of the assembly by Wednesday. The resignation confirms the perception that the BJP did not have the requisite numbers at the time that he was sworn in as CM in on Saturday morning and that governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari had not bothered to ascertain the actual extent of support Fadnavis had before administering the oath of office to him.


Just before he announced he was stepping down, the rebel NCP leader Ajit Pawar also tendered his resignation as deputy chief minister.

The apex court order said that the floor test must be videographed, and administered by the pro-tem speaker, who would be the senior-most member of the house.

Before passing the order, the Supreme Court heard initial arguments on Monday and resumed hearing them on Monday. The NCP-Congress-Shiv Sena had questioned the ‘arbitrary and malafide’ decisions of governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

Back to top button