Writer Geeta Mehta denies accepting Padma award, for this reason

Accomplished writer Geeta Mehta, also the sister of Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik, has refused to accept the Honorable Padma Shree.

Her name figured in the list of recepients that had been released yesterday itself.

But the author opined that the timing of the press release was not right, as elections are around the corner and people who link the acceptance of the award with elections.

It need be mentioned that President of Djibouti Ismail Omar Guelleh, L&T chairman A M Naik, late journalist Kuldip Nayar, late actor Kadar Khan and cricketer Gautam Gambhir were among the 112 prominent personalities who were named on Friday for conferment of this year’s Padma awards.

These awards are conferred by President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.

Back to top button